Starting Again

Well.

I cannot quite believe how long it has been since the last time I posted. I was so full of good intentions! It is time, I think, to start again. I’m facing a lot of changes in my life and I think it might be fun (read: useful for my sanity) to keep a record of what is going on and what I’m learning.

In two weeks I’ll be moving to Oxford to start a one year trainee placement working in an archive. Meanwhile planning a wedding with my other half, who is not moving to Oxford. Naturally, in this hectic time in my life I decided that now was the time to learn to sew!

I read this article in The Guardian and felt inspired. In the article, Jenny Rushmore talks about how learning to sew her own clothes changed how she felt about her body:

I grew up believing that no matter how successful, kind or loved I was, if I was overweight I wasn’t good enough. This feeling was most acute in my teens when, regardless of my nerdy achievements, constant diets and countless sit-ups, I knew I’d failed. […] It turns out, I’d been wrong all along. I didn’t have to dedicate my life to becoming smaller, but just had to learn how to make clothes that fit me as I am now. […] Your physical dimensions become simply a numerical input and not a value judgment. And trust me that you’ll never look better than when you’re wearing something you made, in a fabric you love, in a size that fits.

I found the article truly inspirational. I, like so many others, am two different dress sizes on the top and bottom, I’m too short for standard length clothes and just a little bit too tall (no one is more surprised about that than me!) for petite collections, and most of my clothes are a compromise – not quite the right size or fit, not quite the right colour or fabric. I’ll be the first to admit that I have too many clothes. I don’t really need any more! But at the heart of my massive clothing collection is the fact that I am still searching for the right clothes. Clothes that make me feel confident.

I’ve always wanted to learn to sew, so why not?

Leave a Reply

